Shoprite Supplier Awards 2012

The Shoprite Group of Companies paid tribute to their suppliers at its 2012 Supplier Awards held in Stellenbosch on Saturday, 1 December. This glamorous ceremony, held annually, provides an opportunity for the Group to recognise suppliers for their unstinting support and collaborative approach toward the company’s business during the past year.

Suppliers who are nominated for this prestigious accolade are evaluated on criteria such as the extent to which they had contributed towards the supermarket group’s growth and improved earnings, their stockholding and service levels, the efficiency of their administration processes, and the manner in which they provide support at store level i.e. the frequency of merchandiser visits to the stores. The criteria also vary according to the requirements and demands of the different award categories.

The suppliers who were honoured in their respective categories are:

Confectionery and Beverages: Trenton Chapman, Snackworks, a division of National Brands
Contractor/ Service Provider: Jakes Ludek, Temp-Rite Refrigeration
Perishables and Service Departments: Deon Calthorpe, Willowton Group
Fruit and Vegetables: Grant Smuts, Smuts Brothers Agri (Pty) Ltd Ambient Groceries: Riaan van Wyk, Bokomo Foods Toiletries: Morné Swanepoel, Johnson & Johnson
Non-Foods: Sam Pickering-Dunn, Staedtler South Africa
Furniture: Nu-World Industries (Pty) Ltd
Housebrand/Private Labels: Hennie Kleynhans, Coega Dairy
Upcoming Suppliers: Henri Venter, Alette's Rusks
Liquor: Helen Kock, Distell
Meat Markets: Ettienne Bestbier, Triple A Beef


Front row (fltr): Morné Swanepoel (Toiletries category winner: Johnson & Johnson); Jeffrey Goldberg (Furniture category winner: Nu-World Industries (Pty) Ltd); Helen Kock (Liquor category winner: Distell); Robyn Smalman and Sam Pickering-Dunn (Non-Foods category winner: Staedtler South Africa); Hennie Kleynhans (Housebrand/Private Labels category winner: Coega Dairy); Trenton Chapman (Confectionery and Beverages category winner: Snackworks, a division of National Brands)

 Back row (fltr): Riaan van Wyk (Ambient Groceries category winner: Bokomo Foods); Deon Calthorpe (Perishables and Service Departments category winner: Willowton Group); Grant Smuts (Fruit and Vegetables category winner: Smuts Brothers Agri (Pty) Ltd); Jakes Ludek (Contractor/ Service Provider category winner: Temp-Rite Refrigeration); Ettienne Bestbier (Meat Markets category winner: Triple A Beef); and Henri Venter (Upcoming Suppliers category winner: Alette's Rusks)